Day 498: It could have been a brilliant career

It’s been a long old work day. I’m cream crackered. It’s dawning on me that my job that used to be done by two people, each on 35 hours, is virtually impossible by one person on 19 hours. It’s a bit of a nightmare. This is the story of working in public services; you do the work of two or three people for pretty much minimum wage, that in any other sector would pay 40-50k. I’m starting to feel really disillusioned with my work life. People often think running a library is idyllic. It’s not really. I barely touch a book. My day is spent filling in spreadsheets, answering emails, counting dwindling budgets, raising purchase orders, dealing with complaints and thinking of the best way to tell everyone we’re all probably going to lose our jobs.

Gah. I’m working on either splitting myself in half or creating a genetic clone twin. That or re-training.

At least when I got home I had amazing cuddles from Sandy. She seems to have enjoyed her time with Mummy today because when she went to bed she screamed ‘Muuuummmmmyyy cuuuudddlllee’ for twenty minutes.

Thankfully the kids are now both in bed and dinner is on the way. I have an amazing wife.

See you soon,

Matt.x

Things I learned today: I should never have started a career in libraries.

Daddy skills: 6/10.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/567/57206016/files/2015/01/img_0479.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/567/57206016/files/2015/01/img_0488.jpg

Leave a comment